GeminiGeminiGEMINI, an Indie Next List selection for March, 2014 and Library Reads Top Ten Reads pick for March, 2014

The Seattle Times "Cassella is a gifted writer, gorgeously animating her landscapes and the forces of nature, underlining her theme that even medicine cannot save her characters from mortality."

Publishers Weekly “A book at turns heartwarming and heartbreaking, it invites us to accept, if nothing else, that the only way to live is to “cling to every moment even as you [leap] into the next.”

Library Journal, Starred Review:“[Gemini] poses interesting medical questions and offers deepening mysteries to keep the reader turning the pages.”

Booklist: “A compelling look at the collision of a physician’s professional and personal lives . . . a uniquely involving read.”

Kirkus: “This engaging medical mystery makes. . .compelling points about economics and sociology.”

Library Reads, A March Top Ten Reads Pick: “Book groups will devour this compulsively readable novel with thought-provoking themes. Perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult and Chris Bohjalian.”

Indie Next March Pick: “A medical mystery, a love story, and a novel of depth and complexity — Cassella manages all of this in Gemini.Full of suspense, heartbreak, insight, and a gripping, unexpected ending, Gemini is a pleasure to read.”

“Once again, Carol Cassella has written a novel full of gorgeously rendered characters, fascinating medical detail and tour de force plot twists. From its gripping first pages straight through to its stunning conclusion, Gemini is an unforgettable novel—a morality tale, a mystery, and a love story that will leave readers breathless.” —Maria Semple, New York Times bestselling author of Where’d You Go Bernadette?

Gemini, the latest book from best-selling author Carol Cassella, will go on sale March 4!

Across the Puget Sound in a rural hospital on the Olympic Peninsula an unidentified patient lies unconscious, the victim of a hit and run. In Seattle, ICU doctor Charlotte Reese receives a call: Jane Doe will be transferred to her care. But when the patient arrives—with only tubes keeping her alive—Charlotte has to dig through x-rays and MRIs to determine what went wrong on the operating table. Jane Doe’s condition is getting worse each day, and Charlotte finds herself becoming increasingly consumed by her patient’s plight—both medical and personal.

Who is this woman? Why will no one claim her? Who should decide her fate if she never regains consciousness? As a doctor and a woman, Charlotte is forced to confront these issues head on—especially when her boyfriend Eric, a science journalist, becomes involved in the case. But the closer Charlotte and Eric get to the truth, the more their relationship is put to the test. The key to unlocking Jane Doe’s secret is opening their hearts to their own feelings about life and death, love and marriage…and each other.

Filled with intricate medical detail and set in the breathtaking Pacific Northwest, Gemini is a vivid novel of moral complexity and emotional depth.

Click here for more information about Gemini, and to order it.


 

HealerHealer"A suspenseful, gripping story that is both provocative and gratifying."
Garth Stein, author of New York Times bestseller Racing in the Rain

"A deeply powerful story about the intricate intersection of marriage, motherhood and career.  Clear-eyed and compassionate, Carol Cassella takes her readers on the roller-coaster ride of a marriage and family shaken by financial upheaval. "
Erica Bauermeister, author of The School of Essential Ingredients

"Cassella's book is brilliant on all fronts.  It is one of the most gripping and ingeniously crafted novels I have read this year"
Erin Hilderbrand, NY Times bestselling author of The Castaways

"Cassella (a real-life doctor) takes a hard look at a faulty health-care system to illustrate the power of money and class in this timely and multifaceted novel."
Publishers Weekly

An Indie Next List pick for September 2010
Indie logo

An All You Magazine Bookclub Pick for July

Click here for more information about Healer, and to order it.


 

OxygenOxygen"In her debut novel, Carol Cassella has crafted a rich, layered tale. This medical mystery is told with lyric grace and deep compassion. Like her protagonist, Carol Cassella has the heart of a poet and the mind of a physician; the result is a striking meditation on the complexities of love, the fragile miracle that is the human body, and the burdens and blessings of being a healer. Closing this book left me with a sense of wonder, gratitude, and hard-won redemption."
Stephanie Kallos, Author of Broken for You
 

Oxygen - A National Bestseller


Library Journal votes Oxygen as one of the year's best novels
LibraryJournal.com


An Indie Next List pick for July 2008
Indie logo


Click here for more information about Oxygen, and to order it.